GeoPRISMS Steering and Oversight Committee

The GeoPRISMS Steering and Oversight Committee (GSOC) comprised 11-15 members who represented the broad GeoPRISMS community. Each member served three-year terms, on average. The GSOC was overseeing by the GeoPRISMS Chair. The committee met once a year, at the NSF Headquarters in the spring, to help guide program activities.

Committee members in 2020. From top to bottom, left to right: Demian Saffer (GeoPRISMS Chair), Becky Bell, Rebecca Bendick, Danny Brothers, Mark Caddick, Chad Deering, Robert Harris, Luc Lavier, Emily Roland, Kyle Straub, Jessica Warren

GSOC members were actively promoting GeoPRISMS in their respective community and were encouraged to recognize the need for, and themes of, workshops and/or theoretical institutes, working with their community to prepare the necessary proposals.

  • GSOC’s activities included reviewing progress toward scientific goals, organizing and running workshops, preparing white papers and initiative summaries, promoting national and international collaborations and opportunities, fostering communication within the broader community, and providing advice and feedback to NSF program managers and GeoPRISMS chairs.
  • GSOC monitored and reviewed progress towards the stated goals within each initiative’s science plan, and encouraged attempts to integrate and synthesize results. The GSOC included when possible one or more members to represent the perspectives of industry, the climate and geohazards community, and state or national surveys.

Every semester two members were usually rotating off the committee. Nomination to the committee was done either via self-nomination, nominations from the community following a “Call for Nominations” advertisement distributed by the GeoPRISMS Office, or recommendations made by retiring committee members. Adopted from GeoPRISMS predecessor program MARGINS, GSOC members were recruited so that membership remained balanced, dynamic, and unbiased: 1) Once a person has served on the steering committee, they cannot re-serve (unless they are being considered for the steering committee chair), and 2) There cannot be institutional duplication by committee members. Expertise on the committee is arranged to cover the generalities of each of the initiatives and focus sites, if at all possible.

2010-2021 GSOC membership
Arrowsmith Ramon Arizona State RCL 2010-2012
Atekwana Estella Oklahoma State RIE 2014-2017
Bell Rebecca Imperial College of London SCD, RIE 2017-2021
Bendick Becky University of Montana RIE 2016-2021
Benoit Maggie College of New Jersey RIE 2011-2013
Brothers Danny USGS SCD 2017-2020
Caddick Mark Virginia Tech SCD 2018-2021
Deering Chad Michigan Tech SCD 2017-2021
Dugan Brandon Colorado School of Mines RIE 2014-2017
Evans Rob WHOI RIE, SCD 2011-2014
Flemings Peter Texas RIE 2010-2013
Freymueller Jeff Alaska Fairbanks SCD 2014-2016
Gurnis Mike Caltech SF 2010-2011
Hacker Brad UC Santa Barbara SCD 2011-2014
Hajek Liz Penn State RIE 2014-2016
Harris Rob Oregon State University SCD 2016-2021
Hickey-Vargas Rosemary Florida International EPO 2010-2011
Jaeger John Florida SCD/RIE 2010-2013
Kelley Katie Rhode Island SF 2010-2012
Keranen Katie Cornell U SCD, RIE 2016-2020
Key Kerry Scripps/UC San Diego SCD 2014-2018
Lavier Luc UT Austin RIE 2017-2021
Long Maureen Yale SCD/SubFac 2013-2016
Morgan Juli Rice University SEIZE
Program Chair
Oskin Mike UC Davis RCL 2010-2012
Penniston-Dorland Sarah Maryland SCD 2014-2018
Pritchard Matt Cornell SCD 2010-2013
Roland Emily University of Washington SCD 2018-2020
Rooney Tyrone Michigan State RIE 2014-2017
Saffer Demian UTIG SEIZE
Program Chair
Schwartz Susan UC Santa Cruz SCD 2011-2014
Shillington Donna LDEO SCD/RIE 2010-2013
Straub Kyle Tulane University RIE 2016-2021
Summa Lori ExxonMobil Industry 2010-2013
Thurber Cliff Wisconsin SF/SEIZE 2010-2012
Tobin Harold Wisconsin SCD/SEIZE 2013-2016
Van Avendonk Harm UTIG RIE/(SCD) 2014-2017
van Keken Peter Carnegie SF
Program Chair
Wallace Paul University of Oregon SCD 2014-2017
Warren Jessica University of Delaware SCD, RIE 2017-2021
Watts Tony Oxford SCD 2014-2017
Yogodzinski Gene South Carolina SCD/SubFac 2013-2016
2010-2019 committee reports
April 29-30, 2019, NSF Headquarters, Alexandria, VA
February 8-9, 2018, NSF Headquarters, Alexandria, VA
March 16-17, 2017, NSF Headquarters, Arlington, VA
March 17-18, 2016, NSF Headquarters, Arlington, VA
March 12-13, 2015, NSF Headquarters, Arlington, VA
March 20-21, 2014, NSF Headquarters, Arlington, VA
March 28-29, 2013, NSF Headquarters, Arlington, VA
November 9-10, 2012, Rice University, Houston, TX
March 8-9, 2012, NSF Headquarters, Arlington, VA
November 7-8, 2011, Rice University, Houston, TX
March 7-8, 2011, NSF Headquarters, Arlington, VA
October 17-18, 2010, Hotel Monaco, Portland, OR

GeoPRISMS Education Advisory Committee

 The GeoPRISMS Education Advisory Committee (GEAC) provided advice and guidance on educational and outreach programs coordinated by GeoPRISMS. GEAC helped guide the development of the mini-lessons and webinars (partly supported through a separate DUE grant to Rice University).