Appendix A. Implementation Plan Writing Team (Updated December 23, 2013)

The Implementation Plan writing began after the RIE Implementation Workshop (November 4-6, 2010), and the SCD Implementation Workshop (January 5-7, 2011), based upon input received from the more than 250 participants of those workshops, as well white paper contributors. Updates and revisions to the Implementation Plan are made following relevant GeoPRISMS planning workshops and discussions, as logged in Appendix C. Many people contributed to this community document, most prominently, the lead writers listed below, many of whom also served on the GeoPRISMS Steering and Oversight Committee and/or served as conveners for GeoPRISMS-sponsored workshops. We are also especially grateful for the ready assistance of the many people we called upon for their expertise, who are also listed below. Finally, this document is the product of enriching discussions among the workshop attendees and the members of the GeoPRISMS community. The GeoPRISMS Implementation Plan is truly a community effort!

Writing Team Lead

Julia Morgan (Rice University, GeoPRISMS Chair)

Lead Writers for RIE and SCD Sections

Ramon Arrowsmith (Arizona State University) Estella Atekwana (Oklahoma State University) Mark Behn (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution) Maggie Benoit (College of New Jersey) Susan Bilek (New Mexico Institute of Technology) Heather DeShon (University of Memphis) Susan Ellis (GNS Science, Wellington) Rob Evans (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution) Peter Flemings (University of Texas) Jeff Freymueller (University of Alaska, Fairbanks) Joan Gomberg (USGS) Michael Gurnis (California Institute of Technology) John Jaeger (University of Florida) Peter Haeussler (USGS, Anchorage) Vadim Levin (Rutgers University) Katherine Kelley (University of Rhode Island) Harvey Kelsey (Humboldt State University) Adam Kent (Oregon State University) Katie Keranen (University of Oklahoma) Nicola Litchfield (GNS Science, Wellington) Dan Lizarralde (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution) Kathie Marsaglia (California State University, Northridge) Mike Oskin (University of California, Davis) Frank Pazzaglia (Lehigh University) Matthew Pritchard (Cornell University) Josh Roering (University of Oregon) Tyrone Rooney (Michigan State University) Demian Saffer (Pennsylvania State University)

Susan Schwartz (University of California, Santa Cruz) Donna Shillington (Columbia University) Clifford Thurber (University of Wisconsin) Anne Trehu (Oregon State University) Michael Underwood (University of Missouri) Harm van Avendonk (University of Texas) Jolante van Wijk (University of Houston) Laura Wallace (University of Texas, Institute of Geophysics) Kelin Wang (Pacific Geoscience Center, Sydney, Canada) Martha Withjack (Rutgers University) Richard Wysoczanski (NIWA Wellington) Gene Yogodzinski (University of South Carolina)

We also gratefully acknowledge the contributions of all of the following people. With so many contributors, it is possible we neglected a few critical players, for which we sincerely apologize.

Geoff Abers (Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University), Richard Allen (University of California, Berkeley), Charles Ammon (Pennsylvania State University), Olivier Bachmann (University of Washington), Rebecca Bendick (University of Montana), Magali Billen (University of California, Davis), Emily Brodsky (University of California, Santa Cruz), Maryjo Brounce (University of Rhode Island), Daniel Brothers (USGS, Woods Hole), Katharine Cashman (University of Oregon), Pat Castillo (Scripps Institution of Oceanography), Michael Clynne (US Geological Survey), Elizabeth Cottrell (Smithsonian Institution), Chad Deering (University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh). Erin DiMaggio (Arizona State University), Brandon Dugan (Rice University), Cindy Ebinger (University of Rochester), David Ferguson (Oxford University), Tobias Fischer (University of New Mexico), Lucy Flesch (Purdue University), James Gill (University of California, Santa Cruz), Andrew Goodliffe (University of Alabama). Darren Gravley (University of Canterbury), Sean Gulick (University of Texas, Institute of Geophysics), Elizabeth Hajek (Pennsylvania State University), Stuart Henrys (GNS Science), Simon Kattenhorn (University of Idaho), Suzanne Mahlberg Kay (Cornell University), Peter Kelemen (Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University), Kerry Key (University of California, San Diego), Keith Klepeis (University of Vermont), Steven Kuehl (Virgina Institute of Marine Science), Rebecca Lange (University of Michigan), Jessica Larsen (University of Alaska, Fairbanks), Maria Beatrice Magnani (University of Memphis), Jeff McGuire (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution), Seth Moran (US Geological Survey), Nick Mortimer (GNS Science, Wellington), Greg Mountain (Rutgers University), Andy Nyblade (Pennsylvania State University), Alan Orpin (NIWA, Wellington), Sarah Penniston-Dorland (University of Maryland), Mark Reagan (University of Iowa), Dale Sawyer (Rice University), David Scholl (US Geological Survey), Chris Scholz (Syracuse University), Josh Schwartz (California State University, Northridge), Brad Singer (University of Wisconsin), Tom Sisson (US Geological Survey), Robert Stern (University of Texas, Dallas), Howard Stowell (University of Alabama), Rupert Sutherland (GNS Science, Wellington), Andy Tulloch (GNS Science), Peter van Keken (University of Michigan), Paul Wallace (University of Oregon), Colin Wilson (University of Wellington, Victoria), Ikuko Wada (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute)