Alaska Draft Implementation Plan Available for Commment

GeoPRISMS Alaska Primary Site
- Draft Implementation Plan is now available for review

The GeoPRISMS Implementation Plan for the Alaska Primary Site has been revised based on the outcomes of the recent GeoPRISMS-EarthScope Planning Workshop on Alaska, held in Portland, OR in September 2012.  A draft of the revised Implementation Plan is now available for public review and comment, here:

In order to finalize the Implementation Plan with ample time to allow the community to respond to the upcoming GeoPRISMS solicitation (July 2, 2012), we will accept input from the community through April 6, 2012 - two weeks from today.  Until that deadline, comments on the draft science plan should be sent directly to Julia Morgan, GeoPRISMS Chair ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ). Comments will be considered by the writing team and the document revised accordingly.

The lead writers (listed below) have done an extraordinary job synthesizing the outcomes of the Alaska workshop, and identifying the key directions for future GeoPRISMS research in Alaska.  They deserve high praise for their efforts.  By definition, the need to prioritize the science means that not everything can be included in the plan; the scientific summaries are designed to be informative but succinct (citations are minimal), and the implementation plans tractable and achievable within the decadal time frame of GeoPRISMS.  Even so, the plan is ambitious, ensuring that the best science will have to compete for the available GeoPRISMS funds, and additional funding strategies must be pursued to achieve the grand GeoPRISMS science objectives.

We look forward to your constructive comments to help improve and solidify this community implementation plan for the Alaska Primary Site, and please remember - the deadline for comments is April 6, 2012!!

Julia Morgan, GeoPRISMS Chair

Alaska Implementation Plan Writing Team Members:
  Jeff Freymueller, Peter Haeussler, John Jaeger, Donna Shillington, Cliff Thurber, Gene Yogodzinski